For Lorraine Williams

I first came across the quilt project on Facebook, my friend Maria Barrett suggested it to me – she knows I enjoy embroidery.  I got in touch and, even though I live in New Zealand, I was warmly welcomed on to the project.  I looked down the list of available names and there was ‘Lorraine Williams’ which is my maiden name, so that was the connection for me.  She died on April 3, 2009, at Prince Charles Hospital in Merthyr Tydfil.  She was stabbed by her husband who was said to be a violent ex-soldier with a history of domestic violence. He was jailed for life and will serve at least 15 years. The murder took place at their home in Abercwmboi, Rhondda Cynon Taff. He attacked her with a carving knife causing three lesions to her throat. A neighbour heard her screaming.  She got as far as the front door but he dragged her back and didn’t summon help. It’s heartbreaking, she must have been terrified.  In court, he claimed she had jumped on to the knife and it was an accident.

The Judge said that despite pleas from her friends and family, Lorraine had tried to cover up the long-term abuse out of love and loyalty and a mistaken sense of responsibility.

I could only find one picture of Lorraine but she was laughing and looked like a fun person to know.  I didn’t have much time for my square given the postal delay, so I chose a lovely piece of fabric that spoke for itself – bright blue and black, with new Zealand motifs.  I felt that connected me to her.  I wrote her name in simple stitching, in black for mourning, but with a bit of gold for the life that she was.  I also added a line of sequins.  I don’t know why, but I felt she might have liked a bit of bling.

Submitted by Lorraine WarrenLorraine Warren

Leave a comment